- What was said (S11 CIPFA App B, PDF p12)
- Outline Business Case showed an IRR of 9.04% and cumulative cashflow of £1.54m (CIPFA notes IRR excluded interest and principal repayment).
- Target
- Not stated in text reviewed
- What later documents record
- CIPFA (2021): model assumptions such as 725 to 800 dwellings and reliance on RHI ‘not prudent’; SDEN ‘will require further financial support from Sutton Council’. Accounts: loss £76,753 (2023/24), £100,568 (2024/25); owes council £2,457,645.
- Status
- Partly delivered / mixed Verified
What SDEN said v what happened
Each entry quotes or closely paraphrases a public statement or forecast and then records what a later document shows. A forecast that was not met is not necessarily a wrong forecast; we record the gap and let you judge.
Right of reply. SDEN and the Council are invited to send corrections or comments on any entry; we will publish them alongside. See Corrections.
Two statements are described as not matching the facts: P-008 (a forecast completion date that was not met) and P-012 (a present-tense statement on the SDEN website that does not match the Council's own plan). We say this only because the two documents are quoted side by side and you can compare them.
- What was said (S11 CIPFA App B, PDF p14)
- 725 homes completed by 2020 (2015); revised model: 800 homes completed by 2022 (2017).
- Target
- 2020 / 2022
- What later documents record
- Full build-out/adoption of heating interface units completed summer/July 2023 (company plan). Brochure states 805 homes served.
- Status
- Partly delivered / mixed Likely
- What was said (S11 CIPFA App B, PDF p14, p19)
- Model included an 80-place care home from 2019 at 12,000 kWh per unit.
- Target
- 2019
- What later documents record
- Outline planning approval changed use to assisted living (C2) in Sept 2016; CIPFA says this was not recognised in the model or brought to KPMG's attention; CIPFA judged the 12,000 kWh rate still reasonable. No evidence found that a care home/assisted living scheme has been built or connected.
- Status
- Not delivered (as at date shown) Likely
Sources: S11
- What was said (S11 CIPFA App B, PDF p5, p14, p29)
- Renewable Heat Incentive income of £52,800 a year (up from £21,219 in 2015 model).
- Target
- Annual from commissioning
- What later documents record
- CIPFA: scheme no longer eligible; assumption ‘not prudent’; without RHI SDEN needs substantially more council support.
- Status
- Not delivered (as at date shown) Verified
Sources: S11
- What was said (S9 SSB report 5 Feb 2019, PDF p2 (para 3.4, 4.1))
- Extend network about 700 m to the Lavenders (c460 dwellings, indicative capital cost £1.2m); Clarion needed contracts signed before end of March 2019.
- Target
- 31 Mar 2019
- What later documents record
- No supply agreement signed as of Mar 2026; connection forecast ‘from mid 2027’. Scheme now c348 properties, about 600 m (press) and circa £2m (DESNZ).
- Status
- Not delivered (as at date shown) Verified
- What was said (S7, Phase 2 section)
- Full planning application for Lavenders expected Q1 2025; heating and hot water supply to Lavenders mid 2026; Heads of Terms agreed.
- Target
- Q1 2025 / mid 2026
- What later documents record
- Mar 2026 plan: planning application still to be submitted after design review; supply agreement not final; connection forecast ‘from mid 2027’.
- Status
- Not delivered (as at date shown) Verified
- What was said (S19, Lavenders entry)
- FID 2024, construction start 2024, initial heat on 2025; construction about one year; extension ‘costing circa £2M’; sale of 2.5 GWh bulk heat.
- Target
- 2025
- What later documents record
- As P-006: not under construction as of Mar 2026.
- Status
- Not delivered (as at date shown) Verified
- What was said (S12 brochure, p1)
- ‘Further expansion to an additional 348 residential properties is forecasted to complete before the end of 2025.’
- Target
- 31 Dec 2025
- What later documents record
- Not met. The Council's March 2026 plan forecasts the Lavenders connection from mid 2027.
- Status
- Statement did not match later facts Verified
- What was said (S12 brochure, p2)
- ‘Through a robust back-up system... 100% availability of heat to the site 24 hours a day, 365 days per year.’
- Target
- Ongoing
- What later documents record
- Company reports 99.99% availability in 2025 and one outage on 14 Nov 2025 (about 4h15m, 1:30–5:45am). The Sutton Guardian (Dec 2023) reported an outage on 6 Dec 2023 as the 30th on the network since 2021.
- Status
- Statement does not match SDEN's own data (literal reading) Likely
- What was said (S12 brochure, p3)
- Heat ‘is 80% less than gas fired boilers and 50% less than ASHP’; gas CHP ‘expected’ to be carbon positive within 5 years.
- Target
- n/a
- What later documents record
- No independent calculation seen. Business plan projects 988 tCO2/yr saving from July 2023 at NMQ and up to 15,000 t/yr if full potential realised. Current heat is landfill gas engines with gas back-up; ERF connection forecast 1 Apr 2027.
- Status
- Cannot be checked yet Unverified
- What was said (S12 brochure, p2)
- ‘SDEN has an exclusive heat purchase agreement with Viridor... This is the primary heat source for the network expansion.’
- Target
- ERF heat from 1 Apr 2027
- What later documents record
- HPA with Viridor for up to 15 MW is confirmed in council and DESNZ documents. Present primary source is landfill-gas engines; ERF go-live forecast 1 Apr 2027; a GHNF top-up (£498,614, applied 23 Jan 2026) is for connection works.
- Status
- Not yet due / outcome pending Verified
- What was said (S18 website, home page, ‘Why use a DEN’)
- ‘Every house and flat on the decentralised energy network receives hot water directly from the new energy recovery facility.’
- Target
- Present tense
- What later documents record
- Council business plan: primary heat today is landfill-gas engines at Beddington with on-site gas boilers as back-up; ERF connection forecast 1 Apr 2027.
- Status
- Statement did not match later facts Verified
- What was said (S12 brochure, p4)
- ‘Competitive pricing’; ‘well protected from the volatility of the wholesale gas market’; SDEN ‘has been able to protect its customers from higher energy prices’ in the recent energy crisis.
- Target
- Ongoing
- What later documents record
- 2026/27 tariff: average 2-bed £750.02 vs domestic gas comparator £770.81 (about 2.7% lower), SDEN's own method (avoided-cost parity). An error left the Apr–Dec 2025 tariff increase unapplied (average undercharge £25–£35), reported to Ofgem. Whether prices during 2022–23 were protected: not checked.
- Status
- Partly delivered / mixed Unverified
- What was said (S12 brochure, p2)
- ‘Heat Network Zoning Regulations will be introduced in 2025’; Ofgem regulation ‘expected to be completed across the next couple of years’; Sutton ‘deemed a Heat Network Priority Area’.
- Target
- 2025
- What later documents record
- Ofgem regulation went live 27 Jan 2026 (existing operators register by 26 Jan 2027). ‘Priority Area’ designation: no source found.
- Status
- Partly delivered / mixed Unverified
- What was said (S12 brochure, p2–4)
- London Cancer Hub connection ‘is excitingly a realistic opportunity’; route via a cluster of commercial properties in Carshalton to LCH; SDEN to ‘design, finance and build 100% of the primary heat network infrastructure’.
- Target
- Not stated
- What later documents record
- LCH and NHS connections ‘still being evaluated’ and excluded from the financial forecast. Council forecast construction costs ‘in excess of £50M’ for multiple large connections. Stakeholders seek heat from 2029. No source found for the Carshalton commercial cluster.
- Status
- Not yet due / outcome pending Verified
- What was said (S11 CIPFA App B, PDF p30–31)
- For further phases adopt the HM Treasury ‘five case’ business case model; strengthen scrutiny; new business plan by Jan 2022; strategic options by Mar 2022.
- Target
- Dec 2021 – Mar 2022
- What later documents record
- Lavenders business case in Treasury five-case format (Jan 2025 requisition report). Other recommendations not individually assessed.
- Status
- Partly delivered / mixed Likely
- What was said (S3, finance section)
- Forecast losses £10k (2026/27), £20k (2027/28), £10k (2028/29); loans repaid by 2050/51; Lavenders income in 2027/28.
- Target
- 2026–2029
- What later documents record
- Pending.
- Status
- Not yet due / outcome pending Verified
- What was said (S4, Hermetica Black paragraph)
- Appoint Hermetica Black to seek an investment partner so large expansion is funded externally (council wishes to de-risk).
- Target
- Partner in place before large connections
- What later documents record
- Procurement approved; no partner announced in documents reviewed. Fee reported as £120,000 by Inside Croydon (2 Jun 2026) (not found in the council document reviewed).
- Status
- Not yet due / outcome pending Likely
This site is independent of Sutton Council and SDEN Ltd. It is not operated, funded or approved by either.